stranger at the gate   8 comments

IMG_0512 

so, i’m going to throw this out there and see what happens. it’s the sort of thing i rarely see discussed in the greater pagan world, and certainly not much in the polytheist one. at least not in much of a realistic fashion.

how do you know with whom you’re communicating?

i’ve been asked this, and answered confidently that the various gods of my acquaintance and a few other beings and spirits have voices as distinctive and recognizable as yours. and honestly, i think this IS usually the case. if you’re doing regular ritual, praying and just plain yakking on a daily basis, doing some basic research and most of all, paying attention, i think that even those who are basically thick (as i am) can usually tell Who’s there. if you’re in deep ritual and Thoughts are coming to you limned in light, or resonating like a bass drum, or whirling on an Otherworldly wind, you’re likely to ascribe the communications correctly to the God(s) (or ancestors or what have you) to whom you’ve dedicated the ritual, and crafted the invitational songs or incantations or epithets or simple prayers.

yes?

and even when i’m blammed out of the blue with an epiphany unasked, there’s a particular feel that divine communications tend to have that help me differentiate them from random suz thoughts (even brilliant ones, which i do sometimes have. i DO.)

i think. maybe.

probably.

and the gods who are the main focus of my regular cultus really do have such unique voices (not really voices, but not sure how else to describe them) that i can generally tell fairly easily whether this or that directive or inspiration or warm fuzzy is from Demeter or Hermes or Hera. and certainly if i’m making offerings to a particular god or spirit, or noodling around in the vicinity of their shrine or dedicated area, that’s who i assume is knocking at my psyche.

but a few things have happened recently that have me questioning my confidence. not always. not even often. but sometimes i’m not sure that the things that have happened are actually being caused by Whom i thought they were.

i’m doing my own poking and investigating, and will almost certainly seek out some other mantic feedback at some point (my own readings for myself have been awesome lately after a long dry spell, but this is too close- i need objectivity.) but while i’m in this exploratory phase, i’d be very interested in hearing from others whether or not this has ever occurred to them, and how they handled it.

i’m not trying to be all oooo enigmatic, just don’t want to give too much info because that tends to color the responses. i’ll probably post more fully on it at some point, if given the go-ahead to do so.

anyone care to share their experiences with me?

khairete

suz

 

Posted September 2, 2014 by suzmuse in Uncategorized

8 responses to “stranger at the gate

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am not nearly as devout as I used to be. I will tune in, though, when struck by something out-of-the-ordinary, and am generally rewarded with insight. I have twice in the last year heard an owl hoot outside my window — unusual in my neighborhood. Both times I was faced with decisions I did not want to make. Both times I was able to find stillness within.

    Love and light to you, sister!

  2. The best i can describe it is that they havery different “frequencies” that are distinct. For instance Apollon usually brings the distinctual melodic humm like bees or moving fire… or alternatively a hollow windy howling. A quickly moving dancing cadence.
    Artemis on the other hand is a rough biting type, crisp and sharp. Woody scent of pine.

  3. Would you accept the opinion of an atheist who used to be a Pagan, who has a completely different view on what is occurring? I don’t want to offend anyone, but it is an interesting topic for me.

  4. love you too, my jen! and i’m so glad your tunedinnedness was helpful on a practical level. i love it when that happens.
    lykeia, muse-kissed one, thank you for your winged words! demeter often comes with the scent of grass, heady and intoxicating.
    sure, justin, so long as it’s not dismissive (which i don’t think you would be.) obviously we’re coming at it differently, but i never brush away mundane and psychological explanations.
    khairete
    suz

  5. Right now They are being quiet: no birds or other animals, no dreams, no day drifts. However, I can sometimes help others read their signs.

  6. I do a LOT of research first, before I even attempt a working. I read old texts, historical info, the mythos, etc. I think if you equip yourself with a decent amount of knowledge, so that you understand the symbols, messages, and metaphors attached to a deity, you are able to discern who it is you are talking to. There is no way I could ever confuse a message from Hekate with Persephone, or Hermes with Pan. They all speak different ‘languages’, to me.

  7. Nothing helpful to say or add…but interested in this thread. Maybe someday I’ll sleep though the night on a regular basis and be able to think again.

Leave a Reply

